Review: The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: The Call of the Forgotten #1) by Julie Kagawa

The Lost PrinceThe Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa
The Iron Fey: The Call of the Forgotten #1
Fantasy | Young Adult | Paranormal
Published by Harlequin Teen on October 23, 2012
★★★

Don’t look at Them.
Never let Them know
you can see Them.

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

My name is Ethan Chase.
And I may not live to see my
eighteenth birthday.

I really don’t know what to think about this book still, and it has been a little over three days since I read it. About a year or two ago, I pretty much marathoned the first series, The Iron Fey, and from rereading my reviews, I only really liked The Iron Queen. I mean the other three books were decent, but The Iron Queen seemed to be the only one I truly liked. From what I remember, Meghan was my biggest problem.

Therefore, this book should’ve been a relief, right? New characters? Same world? (Because I did like the world.)

Well, not really.

The characters were so meh

I mean, Ethan was such an absent character. He should be the driving force of the novel, in my opinion, since he’s the main character, but no. For the most part, I forgot he existed half the time. Plus, Kenzie–the girl he for some reason risks a whole lot for–is so freaking plucky that I almost dislike her. Almost.

Once again, the only character I actually enjoy is Grimalkin. Shocking, right? I liked the cat. The freaking cat.

Don’t get me wrong, Ethan wasn’t a bad character, per se. He just wasn’t a very strong character.

Such a stereotypical romance, too

Literally they “fall in like” in one week. One weeeeeeeeeeeeek. One. Uno. Can you tell that bothers me? Within one week, Ethan is telling Kenzie, “I won’t disappear once we get back to real life, I promise. I won’t leave you. You mean so much to me.” Wow. Wow. Wow. If there’s one thing that bothers me, it’s cheap, fast-paced romances (unless I’m looking for a cheap, fast-paced romance) in teenage novels.

(Side note: In my opinion, these love at first sight type books are teaching young girls the wrong thing. Honestly, girls grow up expecting guys to be these either amazing creatures that will die for them or bad boys that need to be healed. This will turn into an hour-long rant if I don’t stop here, so whatever. I just dislike them.)

So yeah. The romance did absolutely nothing for me. Usually I’m swooning by the end of the novel (*cough*Ash and Meghan by book three*cough*) but I just wanted this book to end, so I rushed the end.

Why does Kagawa end all her Iron Fey books the same?

This just occurred to me, but from what I remember, each Iron Fey book has started and ended the same.

Start: Normal life. Somehow main character and sometimes companion gets sucked into the Nevernever once again to battle evil or save someone.
Middle: Ooh, big adventure in the Nevernever! Probably some love going on! Hot faeries! Sneaky faeries! Grimalkin! Ooh!
Ending: Back to real life, guys. Evil is temporary benched. Please, try to be normal again.

And the cycle repeats. I’m tired of it. I’m tired of them getting “sucked” back into this mythical world. I need a break. (Despite saying this I will probably still read books two and three and most likely four if a four is released. I’m weak.)

TL;DR

Honestly, if you weren’t too impressed by the first series, don’t bother with this series. It’s not like this series is bad, it’s just that they’re so similar to the first books, and the characters are still irritating. If you have the time and are interested, then go for it, because the book was not bad. I read it in two days, and enjoyed my time reading it. But if you really aren’t motivated to read it and you’re unsure, you probably just shouldn’t. The ending to The Iron Fey series is enough.

divider

follow us on bloglovin

Leave a Reply

