book review, tori

Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Dream Thieves

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
The Raven Cycle #2
Young Adult | Fantasy | Paranormal
Published by Scholastic Press on September 17, 2013
★★★★★

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Of The Raven Boys, Entertainment Weekly wrote, “Maggie Stiefvater’s can’t-put-it-down paranormal adventure will leave you clamoring for book two.” Now the second book is here, with the same wild imagination, dark romance, and heart-stopping twists that only Maggie Stiefvater can conjure.

(I apologize in advance if this review is slightly all over the place. I tried my best to categorize my thoughts, but honestly, I just loved this book too much to be completely organized about this review. My apologies.)

I won’t lie and say that I liked Adam in the last book, because I really didn’t. There were so many scenes in The Raven Boys AND The Dream Thieves that made me want to hate Adam, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. I would tell myself that I hated Adam, but then my friend would tell me why I shouldn’t, and I think, “Oh yeah. I suppose so. Poor Adam. Adam is misunderstood.”

Anyway, this entire review will not be about Adam. (Although I do want to point out that Adam does questionable things, but that is because even Adam himself does not understand who he is; he simply knows that he wants to become successful on his own, aka without the aid of Aglionby boys with money.)

Don’t talk about substance party

Please appreciate this Fight Club reference by buttface Kavinsky.

“First rule of subtance party is, you don’t talk about substance party.”

There were multiple plots throughout The Dream Thieves, and one of the major points was the dynamic between Kavinsky and Ronan. Throughout the novel, Kavinsky is portrayed as the typical bad boy–street races, has substance parties, lights illegal fireworks on the Fourth of July, etc. (There is this lovely post on Stiefvater’s Tumblr that discusses the magnitude of Kavinsky’s level of messed up, but only read it if you have already read this book or do not mind spoilers.) In the middle of the book toward the end, I sort of even liked Kavinsky. He called Gansey Dick-Dick-Dick or Dick Three, which was great.

Honestly, I just liked Kavinsky as a character up until the last couple chapters. Despite the ending of the book, the dynamic between Ronan and Kavinsky was wonderful. The character development was wonderful. I love that Stiefvater manages to make every character in her book seem like a real person rather than just a figment of her imagination.

Glue

My friend informed me that the Blue/Gansey ship name is Bluesey, but I quite like Glue, so I shall call them Glue.

LITERALLY THESE TWO ARE KILLING ME I SHIP IT SO MUCH I DIDN’T KNOW I COULD SHIP SOMETHING THIS MUCH BEFORE. JUST. YES.

excited supernatural deansource

I think the part that kills me the most about them is that they can’t be together. Literally the entire book is stolen glances and thoughts that they know they shouldn’t be having (“oh Blue looks lovely today” “oh Gansey’s lips are quite marvelous) and hidden desires, and literally Glue just kills me. I think I might actually die if they don’t kiss.

And that’s just cruel because if they do kiss, Gansey dies. He freaking dies. How is that fair?

Aaaaaand the plot thickens

I swear, Stiefvater has managed to throw everything into a her book and make it work. Honestly, the first book seemed pretty all over the place to me, yet I loved it. Again, this book is pretty all over the place, yet it all fits together. Everything fits together. The POV changes even fit together. All the characters’ lives intertwine, and they all have fates that fit together. I’m pretty sure Blue’s dad, Butternut, even plays a role in the finale.

I commend Stiefvater in being able to coherently weave everything together and make it seem realistic.

TL;DR

So basically I loved this book, and it was my favorite. I quite enjoy Adam’s character now; I think he’s a cool guy. Ronan is fantastic, might I add. Oh, let’s not forget Gansey and Blue. Their slow-burn romance is killing me, and I think I’ll die before Gansey. Stiefvater is wonderful at interlacing all her plot points in her book, which is great. Her writing is as beautiful as ever. Honestly I couldn’t have asked for a better second installment to The Raven Cycle. Please do read this. You won’t regret it. This is definitely a favorite.

Leave a Reply

