book review, tori

Review: The Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: The Call of the Forgotten #2) by Julie Kagawa

The Iron TraitorThe Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa
The Call of the Forgotten #2
Young Adult | Fantasy | Romance
Published by Harlequin Teen on October 29, 2013
★★

In the real world, when you vanish into thin air for a week, people tend to notice.

After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for-his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again.

But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.

I don’t think I can accurately express how I felt about this book. I won’t lie—I don’t have fond feelings for The Iron Fey: The Call of the Forgotten. (Albeit, my feelings for The Iron Fey weren’t quite so fond either.) My problems with The Iron Fey trickled down into my problems with The Iron Fey: The Call of the Forgotten. Honestly, I just didn’t like this book.

I have two words this book: Just no.

First off, the characters were so irritating. I didn’t think they could get worse from Meghan (if I can recall, I really didn’t like Meghan), but they did. Yes, I did have issues with Ethan from The Lost Prince, but not nearly as many issues as I have with Kierran and Kenzie and Ethan and Annwyl from The Iron Traitor. I gave the first book three stars, but I can’t give the same for this book. I almost want to give it one, but it wasn’t that horribly bad.

Let’s start with one of Ethan’s biggest character flaws (not sure if it’s a personal flaw for the character or literally just a character flaw): he’s not tough. For the past two books, Kagawa has emphasized the point that Ethan is so tough, and Kenzie even calls Ethan tough guy, but Ethan is anything but tough. Sure, he has piercings and he rebels against his parents. Wow, he’s so incredibly horrible. He belongs on the streets!

Not just that, but the romance between Kenzie and Ethan makes me want to gag myself with a spoon. I hate it so much. “Don’t leave me, Ethan.” “I won’t leave you, Kenzie.” “Why’d you leave me, Ethan? I’m dying! You shouldn’t leave me! You promised!” “I’m a buttface. I love you, Kenzie. Be with me forever.”

Here’s an actual quote coming from Ethan’s very own brain.

“Don’t stop. Don’t ever leave. Stay with me, Kenzie. The Nevernever, the Between, or the real world, I don’t want to face anything without you.”

sigh supernatural dean

And I mean, yes, I get that Kenzie is an independent woman and ain’t no man can tell her what to do, but Ethan just cares about what happens to Kenzie. She has leukemia! That has the potential of being a very, very aggressive disease! Especially for teenagers! Why does she shame him for caring about her by saying he doesn’t care at all!!!! I’m just done with them. I can’t handle them. I hate it so much.

Kenzie is not the better one in the relationship though. Constantly, she is guilting Ethan. Constantly. She never stops. In my opinion, a good girlfriend–or even just a friend–would try to see Ethan’s side, not just her own. I think she’s a bit selfish in that respect.

And don’t think that Kierran, the iron/ice/summer prince, is much better. I get that time is different in the Nevernever but it seems that Kierran and Ethan have the same maturity level, and they’re both willing to freaking die for two girls. I understand that they in luuuuuuuurve and all but guys. Meghan and Ash would gladly help. You know they would. So why do you two insist on gallivanting throughout the Nevernever by yourselves?

And what is it with Kierran and Ethan and their freaking hero complexes? It’s so infuriating. They’re not heroes. They’re on suicide missions, and they tend to disregard who they take down with them. It’s as though they get through half their journey, and they’re eventually like, “OH YEAH!! THIS IS DANGEROUS. MAYBE I SHOULD OFFER TO GO ALONE NOW. YEAH. GOOD PLAN.”

sigh supernatural dean 2

Moving on from the characters or else I will be talking about them forever. As for the actual book and plot itself, it’s a repeat of The Lost Prince. And The Iron King. And The Iron Daughter. And The Iron Queen. Literally, every. single. book. is the same. It starts out with a seemingly human getting shoved into the Nevernever to go on a dangerous quest to save something, and then by the end of the novel, they go back to the human world and try to live on their everyday life.

I’m so sick and tired of it. (Honestly though, I’m probably going to read the third and final book just because I’m curious as to how this series will finally draw to a close. I feel bad for reading a book I know I will write a bad review for, but… Curiosity killed the Tori.)

Also, the plot twists aren’t even plot twists. The foreshadowing is so obvious that you just know it’s going to happen. And even if you didn’t see something coming from 50 pages earlier, you still knew that it was going to happen. It doesn’t surprise you. It doesn’t add suspense to the novel.

I just… No.

sigh supernatural dean 3

TL;DR

I strongly disliked this book, and I would not recommend it at all. If you have no burning desire to read this book or even the book after, then just don’t. Please. Don’t get me wrong, the writing wasn’t terrible, and Kagawa isn’t a horrible author. I am just tired of reading the same book over and over, and for one reason or another, the characters and the situations they get themselves into annoy me. I wouldn’t waste my time reading this book.

Let me leave you on this note.

The Nevernever? More like nevernever read it.

NOTE: Can you tell I like Supernatural? And Jensen Ackles? Yeah… I do…

divider

follow us on bloglovin

Leave a Reply

